Lager Time
Lager Time
The Urban Explorer (but in Sick Trainers)
0:00
-28:33

The Urban Explorer (but in Sick Trainers)

Young UnProfessional - EP 2

Greetings, bonjour, what’s happening?

Lager Legions it’s lager season…. Well, it’s always Lager season over here in Lager HQ. I don’t actually drink that much these days but it’s a frame of mind more than anything, letting your hair down, getting things off your chest, that’s what I’m talking about!

And speaking of seasons, it’s all got a bit autumnal out there; I’m enjoying it! Been mainly at home this week, it’s been great, my wife is away for work, I miss her, but it’s just me and the doggies. Done a fair bit of looking out the window, this week watching the rain drops and listening to the magic; one of my favourite things to do. Large up James Harris, who writes Stiff Upper Quip on Substack, he wrote this nice little piece this week about enjoying the rain

Large up those of you that caught the first episode of Young Unprofessional last week. Despite the character being old, this series is all quite new at the moment, and I’m slowly finding my feet with it. These are all draft pieces, I’m writing it as I go along. I’m just playing the with character, and the form and seeing it where it goes. Much like I did with the Satellite Stories. If I can get to six, I’ll see where I’m at with it all. There’s a few stories  that I wrote a few years back, from when Reece was in New Town. I’ll probably put a few of those up at some point, lots of them include many of the characters in mentioned in these London pieces.

So this time next week, I’ll be getting ready for my gig at Poetry & Poppadums up in Wood Green, London. I’m on the bill with comedy and poetry heavyweight Simon Munnery, Carine Harb and all hosted and curated by the legend that is Paul Lyalls. It’s always a fun gig. Good food, booze, tunes and well run.

Also on the Thursday before that, I’m also at the launch event for the inaugural Maidstone Literature festival, at the museum there. Maidstone is where I live these days, and I rarely to get to do anything in the town related to what I do so I’m very excited at the prospect of walking to the gig, from my house. I don’t know what the crack with tickets is, there’s gonna be council people,the mayor but they have a website and are on Instagram so have a bucthers. They got loads of events happening around the town.

In light of upcoming gigs, I’m gonna do a Not Quite Live episode, where I basically just press record and run through a set of poems and sometimes music, then upload them, it’ll probably be just poems; I need to get a bit more practise in for the music before I start doing that again, it’s been a while.

Being that I’ve been at home a bit more, I’ve spruced up my website a bit; have a butchers at www.paulcree.co.uk and I’ve try to organise the Substack a bit as well, so you can see all the Satellite Stories in one place, for instance.

You can find my music on Spotify, Apple, Bandcamp and all of them; few videos on You Tube too.

If you like what I’m doing, hit subscribe on whatever platform you’re following on, it all helps, but I guess you already know that, you must hear it from people like me, all the time

Large up for listening, though

Keep it lager than life

Enjoy the story, it’s called The Urban Explorer But In Sick trainers

Peas and taters

Paul

LINKS

James Harris (Stiff Upper Quip – Notes On Pluviophilia)

Stiff Upper Quip
Notes on pluviophilia
We are oddly unselective in the way we express our attitudes to nature, venturing that we ‘love the outdoors’ as if we shared a undifferentiated affection for the whole thing. As if we were not able to distinguish between say a valley and a sea. Perhaps an unheralded part of all of our em…
Read more

Poetry & Poppadums @ Karamel, Wood Green

https://www.musicglue.com/karamel/events/2023-09-29-poetry-and-poppadums-with-simon-munnery-karamel

Maidstone Literature Festival

https://www.maidstonelitfest.org/

Not Quite Live Edition

https://cree.substack.com/p/not-quite-live-edition-2#details

My Website

www.paulcree.co.uk

Buy my books: The Suburban and The Hip Hop Theatre Anthology

https://paulcree.co.uk/shop

Stream my EP: Toast in the Machine

https://paulcree.hearnow.com/

0 Comments
Lager Time
Lager Time
A series of poems, stories, thoughts and music from writer and performer Paul Cree
Listen on
Substack App
Spotify
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Paul Cree