Lager Time
Lager Time
Reign, rain and Kazakhstan
0:00
-16:08

Reign, rain and Kazakhstan

A little update and a few new poems

Greetings, bonjour, what’s happening?

Welcome to Lager Time: stories, poems, beats, bars and a bit of banter.

Been a funny old week. Queen Elizabeth passed away yesterday, took my wife and I by surprise, when we found out in the afternoon. Was genuinely a bit shocked. Regardless of my views on the Royals, it feels monumental, and like a great shift has just occurred.

And after what feels like months with no rain; we now have lots of it. I like the rain, well, I like hearing it. I often fall asleep at night time to different rain soundtracks on YouTube. Got a running joke with my mate Dean that I’m going to do a DJ set on Boiler Room, with all these different rain tracks.

The rain seems to evoke this heavy feeing of melancholy that I quite like. When I was a kid, we had a little porch out back, and I’d sat on the back-step eating biscuits, whenever it rained, lost in my own thoughts. Now, I love a having a good look out the window just watching it lash down. I’m starting to think (after all these years) that maybe it’s not that healthy, as I get absorbed in these elaborate reveries, eating my weight in crisps and biscuits. Simple, essential things like talking, suddenly become quite difficult, especially for my wife.

I’ve included a few short poems that feature rain this week. I’d planned on starting a small series of short stories, got the first two lined up but decided to search for one of these rain poems and as ever, found a file, with a load of stuff in there.  I’ve fished out a few of them and stuck them up, instead.

Couple of little updates:

LIVE-STREAM / PODCAST

After listening to Niall O’Sullivan’s Rusty Nail Podcast (well worth checking out) where he’s started doing a regular feature length podcast episode, where he reads out some of  pieces he’s put on his Substack page that month, I’ve been inspired to do something similar.  I’m still keen on doing a live-stream but I want to treat those like I would a normal gig. So for me that means committing things to memory, and also practising the music. I’m not there yet but a little podcast to get me on my way? Sounds good, mate. You won’t see me reading bits of paper.  I wanted to do it this Sunday but I just found out my in-laws are coming to visit. Alas. Maybe next week, stay tuned

TOAST IN THE MACHINE

On Monday, I did the first mixdown of this EP I’ve been working on, over the last year or so. It’s called Toast In The Machine. It will be my second self-produced music EP and hopefully a big improvement on the first one I did, RAW 64’S OF BOREDOM, which I didn’t mix or anything.

I like to think my production skills have come-on a bit since then, though still quite basic. I’ve worked pretty hard on it though and it’s sounding ok. I’m currently waiting to hear some feedback from my brother on the mix, he’s an actual producer. I can bang out beat loops all day long, mate and I can arrange and sequence but mixing and mastering? I’m very much a novice; but as lazy as I am, I’m enjoying the learning the process.  It’s 5 tracks and is like, electronic rap I guess? Something like Ghostpoet, or The Streets maybe? Anyway, I’m just sorting the distribution side of things and I’m hoping it will be out by next month for streaming on all the usual suspects.

BIG IN KAZAKHSTAN

So I got this random email a couple of weeks ago, which I just assumed was spam but turns out, there’s a degree of legitimacy to it. Essentially it’s trying to get me to subscribe to some analytics software, which has access to lots of data from Apple, about podcasts that use their service, to which Lager Time is one.

It turns out Lager Time is ranked number 58 (according to the email) in the category of Personal Journals, in Kazakhstan. Ignoring the fictional character Borat, I genuinely don’t know much about Kazakhstan. I have a feeling my dad may have went there briefly in the 80’s, it looks massive on the map but I now I feel inclined to do a bit of reading. So if anyone is actually listening in Kazakhstan, and wants to educate me, large up.

In fact, if anyone, anywhere, is actually listening, nice one. Last time I logged into the analytic bit on Apple my numbers were seemingly so low that it didn’t produce any data at all. Either way, it made me and my wife smile, until I told her we were relocating there immediately to cash in on my new found fame.

So that’s it for now, as ever, if you like what I’m doing, let me know, if you don’t let me know. Subscribe and share if you can.

Have a banging weekend

Paul

GLOOM IN BLOOM

Outside my window I

Can see 7 shades of

Green soaking

up the rain.

Up above, Boeings go back

and forth in regular 1

minute intervals

Adding 2 too 3

Shades of man made gloom.

Wearing the sky

like a don

A Wood pigeon perches

In the balding

Apple tree

Sporting 4

Making it

The Undisputed

World Heavyweight

Champion

Of Grey

And

Horley

Rose-Tinted-Pram-Cover

I’ve got this memory, at least I think it’s a memory, that on occasion comes back to me, when it rains and I’m sitting still. I’m in that navy-blue pram, being pushed by mum, down the Balcombe Road, probably on the way back from the Post-Office, where mum used to collect the child-benefit, every Tuesday. There’s a transparent plastic cover above my head, attached to the pram, protecting me from the rain-drops, which are making delicate patterns on the plastic and gentle pitta-patta rhythms. Up above I can see wet-green-leaves hanging off those big trees that lined the street. I’m warm, tucked up underneath some sort of blanket that may have been knitted by my mum or by my Nana. I feel the motion in the wheels and occasionally hear the sound of the springs built into the frame. It evokes this melancholic feeling I’m very fond of and often find myself craving to be bathed in it, though it’s just occurred to me, that whenever I do think back to it, I’ve never considered whether or not mum was getting wet.

Shrug Shoulders, Drop Head and Carry On

I’ve got a blower fulla’ apps

to watch, listen, play and learn

I’ve got a shelf fulla books

a telly with untold channels and a

load of DVD’s, a pair of legs, working lungs

a bunch of green spaces and a world-

famous winding river just down the road

ask me what I wonna do though and I’ll

flood my brain with all the above, quickly

overload, until it’s all too much, so I

shrug my shoulders and resort to

default, which aint much, rap

some old bars I wrote, pretend

to DJ, stuff food down my

throat, I wonna do it all, mate

but don’t know, where

I’m supposed to

start.

FIRST DAYS IN PORTO

felt like a foreign exchange

kid, missing his family

though grateful for the roof his

hosts would’ve provided, just

not wanting to seem ungrateful, so

chooses to keep schtum

it was a similar case with me

cooped up in a small apartment

whilst it lashed down outside

Porto style. I lacked the means to

provide the accommodation, or much

else for that matter, like a traveller lacking

a driving licence, so takes the train, there’s

no-way that traveller bowls up to the driver to

dictate the journey and destination, so I stayed

passive and largely did what I was told, counting

down the days till my family and mates arrived

wondering at any point, if I’d get asked how I

was doing and whether I was a prick for even

thinking that, certainly felt like one.

Campfire

I’m sat around a festival campfire

hand subtly in my pocket

finger caressing a detonator

which if pressed, would cause

a water cannon to pump gallons

onto the flames, knock the guitar

out that pricks hand and drench the

rest of these condescending, smug, elitist

hypocrites, sending them swimming

in a sea of expensive tents and elaborate

camping gear, meanwhile, I’ll kick over

the vegan food stand and

go and get a donna kebab

then probably feel bad, terrible for kicking over

the vegan food stand and tell myself that was

unnecessary, I’d made my point with the water, I’d

try and work out some form of apology and

a way to atone

or I just suck this scene up, bid

these pricks good night and

hope they don’t keep

me awake with their

vacuous platitudes, us

and them analogies

said in inoffensive

accents, rounded off

with a diabolical

sing-song

I hope not, I

really do

He who dares

It’s possibly the most heroic thing I’ve ever done. Was on my way to work, early as usual, looking forward to getting stuck into that scrambled-egg-on-toast once I got to Greyhound Lane, my chariot was the 118, the Morden to Brixton express, all in all a decent bus but a little temperamental when it came to sticking to the timetable

I roll up Crown Lane, get round the corner and into the bus station and see the 118, indicators on

and with a couple of people boarding. I gave it toes and got to the bus, got my hands on the glass, imploring the driver to open the doors but he was having none of it, mate, geezer drove the bus off, wanker

I flipped round to check the digital display to see when the next bus was

27 minutes

not only would that mean I’d not have time to eat my scrambled-egg-on-toast, I’d be late into work. I’m rarely late and I pride myself on my punctuality. I was furious I don’t like sudden changes of plans, it’s like it opens the gate on a rouge sewage pipe and starts pumping shit into a reservoir destined for drinking taps. My brain was flooded with a squillion, useless thoughts, as I stood there, probably frowning, looking back and forth at the board, whilst the bus sat in the morning Morden high street traffic, not knowing what to do.

It then occurred to me, that the next stop was a short walk away, at the other end of the high street and round the corner, in front of Morden-Hall-Park. there was a normally a bunch of rowdy school kids who got on there, disturbing my peace, in which I like to read, on a daily basis. There was a fair amount of traffic going through the high street

If I’m quick, I might, might just make it to the next stop I also might not make it and look like a dickhead in front of those kids

Somewhere in the midst of all that nut-faff going on in my head, my legs must’ve made an executive decision and declared martial law, because suddenly, I was flying down the high street, ducking in and out of morning commuters and local crack-heads, racing towards the traffic lights by Sainsburys. I overtook the bus whilst it was sat behind a que of other buses and cars, got to the end, where Sainsburys is, knowing I know I had to cross the road, which could lose me time, I needed light and for once, my lightbulb worked and I actually had a good idea, in real-time

I clocked the bus was a few vehicles back, so I pushed the button the traffic c light, hoping that it would go red when the 118 rolled up and give me a much needed window, to get over the other side of Morden Hall Road and make it to the next stop

I pressed the button, keeping that next stop mind, jumped the lights, double time, racing across the other side of the bus station to that carpet shop with a permanent closing-down sale and dashed to the next set of lights. I quickly tuned my head back to see the 118 roll up to a red light and stop, with no bod trying to cross the road, I could almost hear the driver tutting, mug. It  worked!

I dashed across Morden Hall Road, invoking a horn from some prick in a people-carrier, got to the other side, looked back to see the 118 swinging round the roundabout and straighten up, whilst kicking the dust, like an angry Bull about to charge.

I thought about that driver and thought fuck you, mate. Then I thought about that scrambled egg on toast, spied a small group of rude boys up ahead, school bags swinging, I leaned in, then imagined I was Linford Christie, eyes bulging out his head and gave it everything I had, bug-eyes fixed on the bus stop ahead.

I could hear the 118’s engine creep up behind me and the all the morning traffic fling past. The bus overtook me then slowed down to a stop ,opened the doors and the school kids started to pile on. I was closing in, just as the last few were climbing abord, just got the glimpse of an unnecessarily-oversized football bag disappear into the door, as I made it, just as the driver, was pressing the close button. Breathless, I whipped out my oyster, swiped it ave that I mumbled to the driver, thinking I was some kind of league 2 MgGuiver. Dickhead didn’t even look at me. Fuck him. I bowled upstairs and my usual seat was still empty. wiped the sweat off my brow, pulled the book out of my bag and basked in that major feeling of a minor victory.

0 Comments
Lager Time
Lager Time
A series of poems, stories, thoughts and music from writer and performer Paul Cree
Listen on
Substack App
Spotify
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Paul Cree