Lager Time
Lager Time
Satellite Stories: EP 7 - McGeezer The Machine
0:00
-37:06

Satellite Stories: EP 7 - McGeezer The Machine

I'm back (but with the final Satellite Story - for now)

 Greetings, bonjour, what’s happening?

Yes indeed, it’s Lager Time! At last! Lager-Lites of Lager Land unite!

We are back in the game, mate! For anyone new, or those that don’t know, my name is Paul Cree and Lager Time is a place where I share my words. These words mainly come in the form of stories; sometimes auto-biographical, semi-autobiographical, increasingly fictional, often deluded, sometimes humorous, occasionally absurd. I also like to write poems, plays and I produce music and rap; and going forward, I’ll sometimes be sharing my thoughts on a few things too. Lager Time is the vehicle, Lager is the way, Lager is the truth. And yes, I like lager. I’m based in London and live in the big UK

I used to perform a lot; mainly jumping between theatre and spoken-word; sometimes music, sometimes all three at the same time. I don’t do it so much anymore; no particular reason it’s just how it is. Lager Time came about because I’ve always had a load of stuff which never I’ve quite known what to do with, so I started it sticking it up on here and I really enjoy doing it, particularly in the audio form.

It’s good to be back, though! Took a little hiatus which took a little longer than expected but here we are! It’s September, I’ve got Betty Swallox from all this unexpected sunshine but it’s a new season and I’ve got a fresh pencil case, packed full of heat, with a load of silly stories I want to tell my mates about (which in this case, is you, dear listener slash reader)

As previously mentioned; I took time away from it so I could concentrate on getting this course finished and writing this play I was involved with. Both of those things are now done (all my course work is submitted, it’s now in the hands of the moderators) and the play, called the Big House, did a small tour in London in August, which went well. Now that’s out the way, I can focus on some Lager Time business.

So to kick things back off again; I thought I’d share the final story from the Satellite Stories; which is a small series I wrote, all closely based on my experiences growing up in the satellite towns of Horley & Crawley. I recorded this back in February, but then everything got nuts with work, I got way behind on my course, so it was then that I decided to put it all on hold and focus on what I needed too.

From next week; I’ll be sharing the first in a new series of a fictional character I’m working on called Reece; and his adventures in London, so there will less of the auto-biographical stuff for now; but more on that next week

In other news; despite mentioning above that I don’t perform much anymore, I will be doing a set of poems in London, on the 29th September, at the excellent Poetry & Poppadums, @karamel in Wood Green. I’m on the line-up with Simon Munnery, Carine Harb all hosted by the legend that is Paul Lyalls. It’s a great gig; good food, drinks, vibes and well hosted. If you’re in the smoke, come on down.

If you like what I do, tell a friend, subscribe wherever it is you listen, or read, I’ve got a book of older stories and poems called The Suburban and my most recent music project is called Toast In The Machine; a small 5 track EP which you can stream here.

So without further ado, let’s get into the story; which is called MacGeezer The Machine.

Enjoy

Peas and taters

0 Comments
Lager Time
Lager Time
A series of poems, stories, thoughts and music from writer and performer Paul Cree