Lager Time
Lager Time
December eh?
0:00
-2:41

December eh?

Few words and a poem

December, eh? Few words and a poem

Greetings, seasons greetings. Life’s been a bit hectic these last few weeks, hence no post. This might sound like I’m contradicting myself but I’m currently out in America, on my honeymoon. It was hectic in the run up to getting here and we’ve been travelling around; New-York, Boston and now Dallas. So far so good, until I got COVD. I’m currently self-isolating, don’t feel too bright but it’s warm and I’m fortunate enough to be staying at my wife’s sister’s house, I’m being looked-after, this could all be a lot worse.

Anyway, it’s my first chance to pick up the lappy and pen something, so here it is. A little piece I scribbled on the train home, a few weeks back, after a little gig in Norwood. December. So this is also being recorded on my phone, on a new piece of kit I got to help me live-stream but so far it’s not worked, so I’m back to the trust voice-notes

If you’re reading / listening to this, I hope wherever you are, you’re housed, warm and fed. Large up for the support, happy Christmas, Paul Cree.

December comes like a hit and run

Where’d December come from?

Snuck-up like a last-orders bell – slap

red letter dropping on the doormat

No choice but to deal with it now

Was busy living then blinked and

It got dark

Yawned and it got cold

Chin tucked into jacket ill equipped

For worst weather

Was gonna go for a run as well but

It’s raining outside until April

And even then…

So now what?

Footballs off

Make the most of it, mate

Little lights like rain illuminated under

Car headlights, highlights are thin

On the ground this time of year

Like the snow that settles for seconds

Then forms all forlorn and wet disappointment

seeking holes in soles and soaking socks

I swear yesterday it was hot or

At least mild and

Still light at seven and

Christmas was one of them things you

say you’re not even thinking about until

It comes round which is

Well, now

0 Comments
Lager Time
Lager Time
A series of poems, stories, thoughts and music from writer and performer Paul Cree